Less than three months left

Marathon day cometh.

facebook_-1630667983

Once the countdown goes below 3 months, that’s when you start taking things seriously. Gone are the days of less than 2 hour-long runs on Saturday mornings. And God willing, no more injuries. For the past 2 weeks, a new pain haunted me which caused me to walk funny and just killed my running. I messed up something in my right Achilles during a 10k race. The short story: it took 2+ weeks for it to somewhat go away. The long and interesting story…

40349509

Mind over matter:
Whether walking or running, I felt a sharp pain whenever my knee passed my toes. It’s a necessary movement, trust me. To avoid pain and rolling the heel, only the upper half of my foot could contact the floor. Now imagine someone walking like that; one leg while the other is normal. Although I applied ice everyday and took twice as many rest days, I made an effort to run the Saturday morning long runs. I can still recall that awful Thursday when I ran for 2 blocks and then had to stop because it was too painful to continue. 2 blocks! You have to listen to your body though. How was I supposed to run 14 miles two days later at the NYC marathon training run?

121023-central-park-908a.photoblog600

Two days later at CP (Central Park), I’m prepared for the worst and have minimal expectations. Instead of running with the 8:30 pacers, I chose to start with the 9:00 pacers. One mile after we start, I’m already feeling sharp pains and had to slow down. Then around 100 runners ran passed me, 200… I’m feeling like the king of losers. I want to head back and go home. No! I’m not letting this get to me, there has to be a way. Throughout the second mile, I somehow adapted to running with this thing. 2/3 left 1/3 right, hardly any pain. I’d rather run a painless 10:00 pace with a slight limp than not run at all. My good leg has to work twice as hard though. You’d be surprised how fast the miles go when you are totally concentrated on something else. My focus was totally on applying minimal impact on the right leg. I didn’t think I’d last for more than a 10k but I somehow ran over 15 miles. It turns out that jogging is way easier than running.

Training Report:
This was perhaps my worst 2 weeks ever. Bear witness to the power of an injury. I hope none who read this have to go through the infamous Achilles malfunction. Good thing it’s early in the marathon training season.

RunDate Distance Pace Comments
July 24 Wednesday 2.3 10:45 That Achilles injury from two days ago killed me
July 25 Thursday 0.14 13:13 I can’t run. Its over.
July 27 Saturday 15.33 9:46 With a strong resolve, anything is possible
July 30 Tuesday 2.46 10:06 It still hurts. 3 more rest days for me then.
Aug 3 Saturday 11.5 9:54 Still not 100%, but long runs are enjoyable when paced slowly
Aug 5 Monday 4.02 8:56 Almost 100% healed!

Speed Jams (tunes to run that 8 min/mile pace):
I had my ‘Digitally Imported’ App streaming various electronic music , mostly mixes though. Internet radio is good when you get tired of your own playlist.

Random Thoughts
eid_mubarak_461
Eid Mubarak, Ramadan is over. How strange, I’m not sure if I lost any weight after fasting (starving) for a month. Am I all muscle? Anyway, lunch and sleep is much appreciated now. Do you know how much money you can save when skipping lunch everyday?

breaking-bad-final-eps-teaser-poster michael-c-hall-dexter-final-season-sneak-peek

This month has final seasons for two awesome shows: Breaking Bad and Dexter. If you haven’t watched them then you are missing out. Jon highly recommends.

11 thoughts on “Less than three months left

  1. Run To Munch August 7, 2013 / 9:10 am

    aww can’t believe you made it through 15 miles with an injury! Definitely mind over manner.

    I can’t wait for the season of Dexter to be on DVD.

    And breaking bad, I had to stop watching it, shit got too real and freaked me out/,made me sad. Maybe I couldn’t bear watching brother in law and those rocks.

    • sephiroth796 August 8, 2013 / 7:07 am

      15 miles with an injury is nothing compared to the swimming portion of a Tri :). Which season did Breaking Bad get too crazy for you?

  2. PDX Running Chick August 7, 2013 / 10:33 am

    I watched Dexter religiously the first two seasons but I have not seen it since. I might have to revisit that. I’ve never watched Breaking Bad but I’ve heard good things about it — I know its on Netflix, so I might have to give that a go too.

    I’m sorry about your injury, but you’re resolve is incredibly strong to get out there and run while injured. I hate to tell you “jogging” at a double digit pace is STILL running. πŸ™‚ Congratulations on getting through your second year of training through Ramadan. Next year it won’t even phase you!

    • sephiroth796 August 8, 2013 / 7:16 am

      Yep, I think you should catch up on these shows if you have some free time. I actually watched 7 seasons of Dexter throughout Ramadan. Next year, the days are at its longest (July has almost 17 hour days). The lack of sleep always gets me. Now that I think about it, how would folks in Iceland fast during the summer with their midnight sun?

      • PDX Running Chick September 4, 2013 / 6:30 pm

        OMG Jon, look what you’ve done . . . I’ve been obsessively watching Breaking Bad for the last week. Any free time I have has found me with my iPad on my lap watching episode after episode on Netflix. I even baked cookies over the weekend with my iPad propped up to keep my company. Tonight I will watch the last episode of Season 2 and start Season 3. I even had the good sense to set my DVR on Sunday to start taping the current season so I don’t have to wait a year until it’s on Netflix! I love it though. Thanks, I think. πŸ™‚

      • sephiroth796 September 5, 2013 / 9:48 am

        Good to know that I rekindled your obsession. Once you break bad there’s no turning back. It took me weeks to catch up to the current season.

  3. Dominick S. August 7, 2013 / 1:02 pm

    Aint nobody got time for that! Glad to see your injury is healing, its about to get into the meat of your training so hopefully all the injuries are in the past. Way to listen to the body.

    Breaking Bad is my favorite show on TV, can’t wait for this weekend!

    • sephiroth796 August 8, 2013 / 7:19 am

      Hell yea, Breaking Bad. Tio (Hector Salamanca) was my favorite with his little bell. And the Pollos Hermanos chicken always makes me want some.

  4. decidida74 August 12, 2013 / 5:03 pm

    Get better!! iA I will not end up with an injure, I try to monitor my body throughout every run. Having no music helps me. Are you doing the Autism run in early Sept?

    • sephiroth796 August 13, 2013 / 7:23 am

      When running with a group, I turn the music off. I don’t know how to run without music when running solo. The only race scheduled for September is the Bronx 10-miler. I did it last year, its a good one, you should try it out.

      • decidida74 August 13, 2013 / 7:45 am

        Doing a couple othera or I would. Ju St dont pack the headphones. If you can do it with your team yoy can do it alone! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

