Racing through the heat wave

ramadan-2007

Just like last year, I’m fasting for the month of Ramadan. But that’s no excuse to not keep up with the marathon training. Since Saturdays are typically long run days during the morning and impossible for me to complete without hydration, I chose to not fast on Saturdays (will have to make up those days though). For non-Saturdays, I’m up at 3:45AM eating and drinking before sunrise. 16.5 hours later, the sun sets and the fast can be broken. The best time to run is right before sunset. It works out because by the time you’re finished, you can hydrate. Mileage greater than a 5K is dangerous for me especially in this heat after not having water for so long. Dry mouth after 10 minutes, fatigue after 20 minutes, and exhaustion after 30 minutes. I tried running 4 miles once last year and paid the price. Well it’s been 2 weeks already and the closest I’ve gotten to a 5K was 2.43 miles. Yea, I’ve been a slacker. If the temperature drops, I’ll attempt a 4-miler.

queens10k

OFF TO THE RACES :
NYRR Queens 10K @ Flushing Meadows NYC
July 21st, 2013. 8:00AM and 79 degrees. 6,610 finishers.
Results: 8:23 pace, 1812 place, 73% percentile, (C-)

Queens_GettingReady06

The race covered most of my Tuesday night route. It’s great when the start line is just walking/running distance away from your house. I met up with a few wolf pack runners (Matt, NK, Amado) and we ran most of it together (as a wolf pack). I wasn’t intending to run below 8:30 pace but you know how runners get when racing. With a sub 8 pace at mile 2, I overheated rather quickly and actually walked at every water stop which cost me 10-20 seconds each mile. Surprisingly, minus the water stops, I could have PRed. Somewhere in mile 5, a new pain emerged right below my right Achilles. I told the remaining wolf pack to sprint the last mile for me, I’m toast. This is what I get for pushing my legs to soon. Nevertheless, I’m pleased with my performance. Without racing my hardest, I was close to a PR.

 queens10K_5

The NYRR 9+1

Aside from being a marathon superstar, raising funds for a charity, or winning the marathon lottery, there is another method to getting into the NYC marathon (but for the following year). It’s perhaps the most popular for NYers. You have to complete 9 “qualifier” races and volunteer at one race within the year. Doing it this way keeps you race ready throughout the year, provides plenty of race pictures, and adds 9 more running shirts to your pile. I may never actually buy a run shirt again. Anyway, a complete 9+1 will look like this…
NYRR_9plus1

Yes, I’m planning to do it all over again in 2014!

Training Report:
The sudden drop in mileage led to a speed increase on average. My performance is back to where it was in the winter. Or maybe after 16 hours of not eating or drinking, I’m 5 pounds lighter than usual and thus run faster. Who knows.

RunDate Distance Pace Comments
July 9 Tuesday 1.87 9:23 First day of Ramadan
July 11 Thursday 2.43 8:29 Felt light as a feather, zoom
July 13 Saturday ~12 8:45 Ran with the wolf pack on the West side river
July 15 Monday 2.25 8:27 Another good one
July 16 Tuesday 2.42 8:35 And another
July 19 Friday 2.41 8:20 My fastest for the month, and 90 degrees
July 21 Sunday 6.2 8:23 Overall good race, but now have an Achilles injury 😦

Speed Jams (tunes to run that 8 min/mile pace):
I had my ‘Digitally Imported’ App streaming various electronic music, mostly mixes though. Internet radio is good when you get tired of your own playlist.

 

7 thoughts on “Racing through the heat wave

  1. decidida74 July 29, 2013 / 12:59 pm

    You can do it!

    Just did a very LATE light 20 mile run (9:30pm-1:00am ish) with a couple friends! Planning on another one possibly this coming weekend.

    • sephiroth796 July 29, 2013 / 1:13 pm

      Wow, that sounds awesome. A late night long run. What was your route like? I actually start passing out around 10pm from being awake for 18 hours by that point. I’d have to sleep the entire day to pull that off. Your right, it’s possible and I might try it out. Thanks for the idea.

      • decidida74 July 29, 2013 / 2:11 pm

        We started in Union Square and went down to the ferry station before going up the Greenway on the west side. Cut over to the park around Columbus circle and did 1.5 loops.

        I’m definitely planning a 20-24 mile run Saturday or Sunday night in the city if you have any interest. It’s pretty fun and the pace is around 9-10min depending on the incline!

        Lmk what ya end up doing!

      • decidida74 July 29, 2013 / 2:12 pm

        (I actually had a baby shower to attend and changed there right after it ended) =X

  2. sephiroth796 July 31, 2013 / 5:37 am

    So you’re running a marathon this weekend pretty much. I’m not quite there yet. Just ran a 15 miler in CP on Saturday, and need a week off due to a messed up Achilles :(. A night run with your crew sounds awesome. But definitely one of these weekends.

  3. PDX Running Chick August 6, 2013 / 4:09 pm

    I’m so pleased to see you’re already planning to run another marathon in 2014. I knew this would happen. Glad your training is going well. Love your race photos — You always look like you’re having the best time!

    • sephiroth796 August 6, 2013 / 4:18 pm

      Thanks PDX. I figured that a few marathons will be necessary to increase the chances of a 4 hour marathon. Knowing me and how often I get injured (and the occasional hurricanes), anything can happen to ruin my training and race performance.

      When I see the photographers on the race course, I can’t help but smile for them even if I feel like utter crap during that moment.

Leave a Reply

