Water in Sweat out

For me, a 75 degree day is considered a hot day. For about a week, its been 90 degrees; a nightmare. The choices are still the same for NYC marathon training… the treadmill or run outside. The decision is always the same. I must really hate treadmills then. This post covers weeks 3 and 4 of my 21 week training program.

Thoughts in my head during a hot summer run:

hea2t

– How long should I run before it’s time to stop and rehydrate? Every mile, every other mile?.
– I’m so thirsty, and there aren’t any water fountains or stores for another 2 miles, Nooo.
– It’s too damn hot, this shirt is coming off now. There’s like a pound of sweat in it, ugh.
– Grrr, sweat in my eyes, it burns it burns.
– I just had a Gatorade 3 miles ago and I’m thirsty again, cmon.
– Why can’t it just rain already!?
– Is it me or is it hotter outside than the inside of my own body?
– 1 mile left, must race home for that freezing cold shower and recovery drink.
– I get more breeze when I pick up the pace, let’s get crazy now.

I can see why people wake up early to run. 6am-8am is an ideal period before the sun is its strongest. I actually prefer sunset or night. Why have sun at all? So I’ve become a vampire runner lately. Even my last Saturday morning long run was at night. But I can recall one long run session that was actually in the morning.

Random running tale:
It was cloudy with an 80% chance of rain. I tend to band-aid my nips to avoid chafing. Out I went looking forward to a cool and rainy 10 miler. By mile 5, the clouds disappeared and the sun came out of nowhere and just focused on me. I started to overheat so I just took off my shirt. After two miles, I ran past 2 girls who were checking me out. I thought to myself, no way, I’m not young and sexy any more. Well, I have been working out. Lemme check out my “work in progress” six pack to see what they are looking at. Oh my God, my band-aids are still there! Mehhhhh. Throughout the remaining miles, I spent the entire time trying to recall everyone in the park and streets who saw the band-aids and didn’t say anything.

Training Report:
My performance is still not where it was back in the winter but there are signs of progress. The main highlight is that I finally ran below 9:00 average pace during a July 4th 10k workout session. What happened to those good ol’ days when I would whip out 7:30s?

SAMSUNG

So what’s my goal? The same as last year; to run a marathon under 4 hours. It requires an average pace minimum of 9:09. If I can run a half in 1:50:00 hours, then that leaves 2:10:00 to run the second half; an extra 20 minutes. Almost always, after 13-16 miles, my body goes into fatigue mode in which a 9:30 pace is considered fast. The strategy is to be at level where I run at 8:15-8:30 pace effortlessly and 9:00-9:15 pace during the fatigue stage. Can I actually pull this off?

RunDate Distance Pace Comments
June 16 Sunday 8.05 9:24 All that cruise food still being digested…
June 29 Saturday 10.02 9:17 Lesson learned when taking off my shirt
July 1 Monday 6.74 9:10 Felt good
July 2 Tuesday 6.11 9:16 Was tired to begin with, but I survived
July 4 Thursday 6.45 8:51 Best session in a long time
July 6 Saturday 6.24 9:22 It was so hot outside, even at night it was 90s
July 8 Monday 6.48 9:00 Another feel good session

Random Thoughts
facebook_1931237146

After a month of marathon training, running has officially become homework. The hardest thing to do is to convince yourself that you enjoy homework. Switching routes usually helps. Also, July 10th is the first day of 30 days of fasting during Ramadan. I can now say that I have experience training for a marathon while fasting (LastYear). 16 hour days without food or liquid, here we go again.

12 thoughts on “Water in Sweat out

  1. Dominick S. July 15, 2013 / 12:31 pm

    The coolest part of the day is in the morning around 5am, but no one is saying wake up then and go for a run but 7am would probably be much cooler than 7 or 8pm so that may help with the sun. Two girls checkin me out? HAHA, taped nip fail. Also, I see your mileage doesn’t vary in distance much, I am not saying it is a bad thing but most of my research show that the distance should vary between runs for added benefits. Are you using a specific training program?

    • sephiroth796 July 15, 2013 / 1:00 pm

      It’s hard enough to wake up at 5am for Saturday long runs, forget about waking up like that throughout the work week. The night might be a bit warmer than the morning but I prefer a post workout dinner to a post workout quick breakfast and go to work. I’m using the same training routine from last year. Mileage will vary more and more as the weeks go by; the 12+ milers start next Saturday. Besides, I deviate a bit from my schedule sometimes. That’s funny, my research says intensity should vary between runs, lol.

  2. Dominick S. July 15, 2013 / 1:22 pm

    I completely understand the night running, you are much better than I am, I use to run at midnight a few years ago in a previous job and I LOVED it…vampire indeed. Right now, if I wait until after work its too warm and I make too many excuses. Yeah, intensity and mileage should vary, you know your body better than I do, I was just curious to see if you were using a program because it is unique.

  3. decidida74 July 17, 2013 / 4:22 pm

    Hope your runs are going well.. This heat wave is crazy!

    • sephiroth796 July 17, 2013 / 4:35 pm

      You know it. Is not easy being a runner during summer. But what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, so bring the heat on. Any races planned? I’m doing queens 10k Sunday and Bronx 10m in September.

      • decidida74 July 17, 2013 / 5:02 pm

        Ultra in August in the desert so I’m considering this my training! Trying to log 30-40 a week right now, but it’s a lil tough.

      • sephiroth796 July 18, 2013 / 11:04 am

        An Ultra, 0_0! And in the desert. I can see how training in this heat wave is appropriate. You are too hardcore for me. I look forward to your training and desert race recap posts.

      • decidida74 July 18, 2013 / 1:52 pm

        Yeah, I know! It should be fun, for the crazy peeps like me that call this fun. If you ever run in CP you’ve gotta let me know so we can do a run together.

        I’m shooting for a long run Sunday evening, doubt I’ll make it to Queens to watch the 10k, but you never know! I’ll def post a training recap after the long run (it’s been pretty decent so far).

      • sephiroth796 July 18, 2013 / 2:28 pm

        It definitely sound like fun. I’ll actually be running in CP next Saturday morning with thousands of runners in the ING NYC marathon tune-up. Water and Gatorade everywhere! Yea, I’m curious to know how one trains for an ultra and in the heat.

Leave a Reply

