Cherry Blossom at DC

It’s another one of those destination race posts, even though Washington DC is only a bus ride away. It’s never a bad idea to arrive a day or two early and explore.

Friday:
Arrived around 3pm and stopped by the race expo to pick up my bib (first time that my name was printed on it), shirt, and free goodies. With a few hours of daylight left, me and wife walked for a few hours to see Obama’s house, the National monument (still undergoing repairs from the August 2011 earthquake and surrounded by scaffolding), Lincoln’s Memorial, the U.S. Capitol building, and everything in between. After seeing so many runners, I realized that running may have been a better way to get around since everything is a mile apart. We ate at Rosa Mexicana and crashed for the night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Saturday:
We started the day with a 2 hour Potomac River buffet brunch cruise. Little did I know that we would be sailing around most of the following day’s race route. It’s not easy to eat wisely for the race when the deserts started coming out, I failed but it was worth it. Then there was one more thing to do which would take up the rest of the day, the Smithsonian. With so many museums to choose from, the Museum of Natural History seemed to be the best choice. This place should be called the Skeleton Museum by the way. Below are some shots of the various dinosaurs, a mummy, and the centerpiece elephant. After the museum, we went to Asia 9 and I made sure to have an extra cup of rice for the carb boost.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunday:

OFF TO THE RACES :
Cherry Blossom 10-Miler @ Washington DC
April 7th, 2013
17,492 finishers (40% men / 60% women)
Results: 8:09 pace, 3240 place, 81% percentile, (B-)

SAMSUNG

Almost 20,000 runners for a 10-mile race? It was a challenge just to figure out where the start line was. We were all launched out in waves. I heard the horn and saw a wave of runners moving, but it was my wave! Here we go. Mile 1,2,3,4,5 all under 8:00 pace, yes. Plenty of spectators cheering on and I made sure to high-five the hands that were sticking out. Overall, it was a great course with good views and hardly any hills. My legs started to break down at mile 8 but I was too close to a record to slow down now. It was a bad combination of IT band pain and posterior shin splints on both legs.

Through the cherry blossom trees, you could see the National monument; the finish line. That was enough to motivate me to run fast even though it hurt to do so. The crowds became larger and louder. After turning a corner, it was a long straight path to the finish. Runners all around me started to sprint passed me at this point. Oh really! It’s a 100 meter dash race now? Challenge accepted. My finish line rage is here (at 3:56) and you should be able to spot me. [Hint: I had issues slowing down at the finish line and just kept going, lol. I limped all the way back to the hotel like a Walking Dead zombie, but it was worth it. A 10 mile PR.

Training Report:

RunDate Distance Pace Comments
Apr 2 Tuesday 6.37 9:02 Yep, I need to rest my legs, it shows

Speed Jams (tunes to run that sub 8 min/mile pace):
Nothing new from previous posts unfortunately.

Random Thoughts
Being injured sucks big time. You have to wait days or weeks for the pain to go away. Sometimes you think its gone and then decide to go back to where you left off, only to have the pain return immediately. What’s worse? When you have a Spartan race and a JFK Airport Rotary Club 5K Runway race scheduled back to back next weekend. I’ll just rest my legs and cross train until then. Stay tuned for next week’s racing madness.

6 thoughts on “Cherry Blossom at DC

  1. PDX Running Chick April 8, 2013 / 5:40 pm

    I’m dying to go to DC. Great pictures, Jon, and awesome job at your ten miler! Hope you heal quickly!

    • sephiroth796 April 8, 2013 / 11:35 pm

      Thanks. And when you do get to DC, be prepared to do a lot of walking around. Actually, its better to just run everywhere since its a runner’s playground with all the trails and such.

  2. Evie April 9, 2013 / 9:11 pm

    I actually volunteered at bag check on Sunday. It was insane! Even though I didn’t run, I love the energy level at races!
    Congrats on your ten miler and rest them legs!

    • sephiroth796 April 9, 2013 / 10:42 pm

      Oh wow, you were there to witness that chaos. I never do bag checking because then I’d have to go through the chaos once more after the finish. Thanks again Evie and yes I’m resting the legs for sure.

    • sephiroth796 April 11, 2013 / 4:59 pm

      Thanks RTM. DC was nice but doesn’t beat Boston. I await the glorious Boston Marathon post. You got this.

Leave a Reply

