Running to stay warm

The previous post left off on the topic of Chinese New Year. Our kung-fu school put on a good show as usual. For the first time, I didn’t demo anything. It was good to finally be a spectator and be worry-free from falling on my face or flinging a weapon into the crowd by accident. But in the end, I kind of regretted not performing. So next year’s show, prepare for the return of the fire-cracker (nickname given to me). Here are some lion dance ceremony pics (yes, we train/perform at an elementary school cafeteria):

19581_10200763596477153_1204954090_n

525115_10200763596517154_1380481004_n

Other than that, it’s just been 2-3 run sessions per week. My 10K speed is slowly improving, but my 13.1 miler speed isn’t yet. Whenever you feel like you aren’t improving and getting nowhere, you just have to look back farther. So I just look back to a year ago and certainly notice a difference, and feel better right away. Most importantly, I don’t beat myself up for falling short in a training session, I shrug my shoulders and just try again next time. On the bright side, you get to eat whatever you want (Smiley Face). My rage face now shows up in recent candid race pics; like I’m actually racing:

Gridiron2013_3

Gridiron2013_1

Also, my bib number has been getting smaller throughout these races; a good sign of improvement. I finally started getting the green and yellow bibs (the best is usually blue, then red/yellow, then green, then the rest). I was so tired of getting pink and purple bibs last year; not the manliest colors to wear. Speaking of races, there is a 5K race story to share.

Off to the races:

Coogan’s Salsa, Blues, and Shamrocks 5K @ Uptown Manhattan (168th st. and above)

March 3rd, 2013. 5,825 finishers. 29 degrees (brrr).

I can’t believe how people dress for races like its 92 degrees instead of 29 degrees. Anyway, its most likely because they are so freakin fast. I had my usual 4 body layers, hat, gloves, shorts over my tights. Was I going to set a record and beat my 7:32 (5K) pace record, let’s see.

2013_Coogans_Event03

Ready set go! Passed him, passed her, runners everywhere, can’t pass, grrr… stuck between slow people, oops… almost stepped on a little kid, yikes… slow group in front of me, must calculate how to get around them, hmph… too many runners around me, nooooo… bumping elbows with him/her, gimmie space! So yea, it was a bit overcrowded at first. Races tend to start out out slow since everyone is bunched up in the beginning, but not a short race like this, cmon!

Nevertheless, I should be grateful for the runners blocking me and controlling my urge to speed run, because the hills were endless and non-stop. Just when you caught your breath from the previous hill, another one appeared. Conserving energy was key but I burned all of it by mile 2; foolish Jon. Fifteen minutes through, and my chest couldn’t expand large enough for the air it needed. That last mile… sooo hard to breathe. Even 7:30-8:00 pace runners were taking walk breaks here and there. They said to take advantage of the downhill at the end of the race, yea right. How could I after all the previous hills burned me out? Did I beat my 7:32 (5K) pace record? Nope. But I came damn close with a 7:35 pace. BY 10 SECONDS, LOL! Overall I was 1236th place, 78% percentile, I get a C+, yay.

2013_Coogans_TourofWashington05

2013_Coogans_TourofWashington03

At the finish line, I bumped into a wolf pack runner (Chris, who killed it with a 7:25 pace) who is training for the Vancouver marathon and was about to start an 18-miler. What a great idea, lets turn this race into a weekend long run. After all, I was more than a half marathon away from home, perfect. So we started running; “running to stay warm”. From 168th st Riverside all the way to 59th st. It’s always cool to run with a pack even its just 2. We split up at 59th st. and I headed home to through Queens. With 3 miles left, feeling beat up from the race, exhausted, and starving, I just took the train home. Almost 16 miles covered that day.

Training Report:

And the weekly summary.

RunDate Distance Pace Comments
Feb 18 Monday 13.11 8:39 Grrr, must shave off 4 minutes for a Half somehow
Feb 22 Thursday 6.20 8:10 Almost a 10K PR, I had the rage!
Feb 24 Sunday 13.10 8:39 Exactly the same pace as 6 days ago.
Feb 28 Thursday 6.21 8:05 10K PR!!! This includes traffic light stops, YES!
Mar 3 Sunday 12.54 9:08 After an all-out 5K race, this was a decent effort.

Speed Jams (tunes to run that sub 8 min/mile pace):

Some 90s dance classics:

    Gonna make you sweat – C&C music factory
    Rythm is a dancer – Snap
    Pump up the jam – technotronic
    More and more – captain hollywood

Random Thoughts
Not much on mind lately, its been BAU (Business as usual). March 17th is the NYC Half marathon, and guess who didn’t make the lottery twice in a row, (me). However, if you volunteer in this race, you get guaranteed entry for 2014 (and 9+1 credit for the NYC marathon). So, I’m in, as a race course marshall. This will be a new experience for me and might make a good post too. Now to get some dinner…

4 thoughts on “Running to stay warm

  1. Run To Munch March 5, 2013 / 2:19 pm

    I never win the NYC lottery =(

    Great 5K though!

    • sephiroth796 March 5, 2013 / 2:32 pm

      Thanks, luck challenged folk like us have to “earn” our spots in races. If only all races were as easy to sign up for as the Boston Run_To_Remember Half.

  2. PDX Running Chick March 7, 2013 / 11:12 am

    Nice recap! Great 5k even if you didn’t meet your goal!! =)

    Are all NYC halfs and full marathons lotteries? That would kill me. I’d likely never get in — you’ll enjoy volunteering — its nice to be on the other side cheering people on, giving them encouragement — especially because you know how they feel!

    • sephiroth796 March 7, 2013 / 11:30 am

      Thanks PDX, almost meeting the goal is way better than getting nowhere close to it. 2 races in NYC are lotteries (or entrance through charity): the NYC Half and the NYC Marathon. The Brooklyn Half isn’t lottery based, but fills fast (15,000 runners already signed up in 7 hours, its full now). Can’t wait to take some shots of the elites when they pass by my volunteering post.

Leave a Reply

