1000 miles behind me

Happy New Year! 1000 miles behind me in 2012. Its always good to look back and reflect on how far you’ve gone on your journeys before planning a new route. It was quite a year for new things for me and I’m hoping for the same or better in 2013. Starting this blog was something new to start off 2012 (which turned one year old recently). What made me decide to start this blog in the first place? A motivation to try something new, to train for the NYC marathon. To run longer distances, new routes, new training regimens with a group of runners. Although the NYC marathon was cancelled, I still ran 26.2 miles for the first time that day.

Also in 2013, I traveled to Boston, Vegas, California, SE Alaska and Madrid for the first time. And finally switched my Blackberry Bold to a Samsung Galaxy, no more qwerty pad. Switched jobs and now work in midtown (best location ever). After 15 years of not reading any novels, I read all 3 Hunger Games and the first 3rd of The Hobbit. After 20 years, the vintage Lego collection from my childhood is complete. And big change; I quit coffee and became a tea drinker (just finished my post lunch premium jasmine green).

0c07caa053a411e2b65722000a1fb376_7-612x418

New Years Resolution? I couldn’t think of any this year. Maybe just keeping the momentum of 2012 is enough. Maintaining the drive to make the best of the life given to me. The motivation which keeps my training reports full:

Training Report:

RunDate Distance Pace Comments
Dec 18 Tuesday 6.62 8:33 Too windy, mile 1 in 6:55, the last 2 were low 9s, ew
Dec 23 Sunday 13.11 8:41 I didn’t carbo load this time, last 4 miles were tough
Dec 25 Tuesday 6.96 7:56 PR (50 min 10K)
Dec 29 Saturday 13.24 8:41 6 miles snow, 7 miles freezing rain, a few 9 paced miles, meh
Jan 1 Tuesday (2013) 6.46 8:41 2 miles were under 8 pace, yes

Speed Jams (tunes to run that sub 8 min/mile pace):
Ah, nothing like cruising down the street at sub 8 pace (A.K.A. huff-n-puff pace) with the rage. Some tunes that I can recall which gave me a boost during the last 2 weeks:

    No easy way out – Rocky 4 soundtrack
    Pendulum – Watercolour
    Castlevania – Bloody Tears (remix)
    Let it rock – Kevin Rudolph (Gareth Nevin remix)

Random Thoughts
I conclude that running in the rain is better than running in 15+mph winds. Something about running in the rain just brings out the wolf in me. So we all survived December 21st afterall, so when is the new doomsday scheduled?

Spotify is perhaps the best app and totally worth the $10 a month. Listening to millions of songs all day at the office makes working so much better. I was thinking about investing some time and energy into developing an Android app, but clueless as to what the app will be about. Maybe a simple video game or something like that to start. So much to do, so little time.

2 thoughts on “1000 miles behind me

  1. Dominick S. January 2, 2013 / 3:09 pm

    Great year in the books, here is to 2013 and momentum for you!

  2. PDX Running Chick January 5, 2013 / 11:49 pm

    You really had a spectacular year! It was with great joy I watched you grow as a runner. Wishing you the best in 2013!

Leave a Reply

