The last 10 miles

“Everything Else Is A Warm-Up”!

Race day approaches. There’s one last thing to do … to get a feel for the actual course. The itinerary for Saturday morning was to run the last 10 miles of the NYC marathon course. From 59th st. via 1st. ave. up to the Bronx, then back down to 59th. st. via 5th ave., then through the central park finish line. The last 10 miles are quite hilly, but at least I now know when to expect them.

One last time, I ran with the wolf pack at 8:15-8:30 pace for 2/3 of the run. The team then split up to run at our individual marathon pace (ha, we were already running faster than my marathon pace). Don’t ask how I ran 7:49 at mile 10. It’s not my expected marathon behavior at all, just me trying to keep up with the sub 8 pace guys.

With the finish line in site, marathon bleachers set up, and the wolf pack cheering on, me and Lee sprint to the finish. For the first time, I can see some muscle on my chicken legs which I’ve had all my life, thanks team!

This is it, just 5 or 6 training sessions left ranging from 5-7 miles each. Next Sunday is the Poland Spring marathon kick-off 5 mile race which should be fun.

Is there life after the marathon, or will I be depressed/bored without anything to aspire to? I hope I’m not one of those people who repeat the same thing next year only to get a better marathon time. Perhaps smaller races like 5Ks and 10Ks would be a good idea. To cut back on mileage and increase my speed. It would be awesome to finally break the 7:00 min/mile pace for at least one mile. It will require a different training regimen which doesn’t call for 20 mile long runs in the summer (yay). To go back to the times when a half-marathon distance was as long as it gets. Who knows, maybe in 2-3 years, I’ll revisit the marathon distance. I just can’t imagine a marathon race that would inspire me as much as the ING NYC Marathon!

2 WEEKS LEFT!!!

3 thoughts on “The last 10 miles

  1. ironphysicaltherapy October 24, 2012 / 4:38 pm

    I’m having the same issue man. I’m looking into doing a mini tri after the marathon to keep up on my fitness. But no 20 milers for this guy for a while!

  2. PDX Running Chick October 31, 2012 / 10:32 am

    I hope you and your wife came through Sandy without issue. I wish you nothing but the ultimate success on Sunday. Complete the marathon with a smile and enjoy every second of it. You will never again run your first marathon! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!!

    • sephiroth796 October 31, 2012 / 7:02 pm

      Thanks again PDX, you truly have been there since the first posts. I just received confirmation that the marathon is still this Sunday as planned regardless of the hurricane.

Leave a Reply

