Running in Madrid

Yes, the business trip to Madrid finally came, October 1st. I made sure to get my 3 training runs in during the previous week. The results are in for the week of September 24th-29th:

Monday: 8:03 miles @ 8:54 min/mile pace.
Wednesday: 6.78 miles @ 8:36 min/mile pace.
Thursday: 5.89 miles @ 10:08 min/mile pace.
Saturday: 11.50 miles @ 8:44 min/mile pace.

 

Perhaps I didn’t care on Thursday since it was the recovery run. As long as 2 out of 3 are under 9:00 pace. The Saturday long run was 1 outer loop and 2 inner loops of Prospect Park in Brooklyn. Once again, I ran with the wolf pack; it was great. We even hit 7:42 pace at mile 9; something I would never try when running solo.

My overnight flight to Madrid was on Monday night. Packing light is an art, I think I’m getting good at it. No briefcase or anything like that, just a book bag and shoulder bag for 4-5 days. And of course, I packed my running sneakers and stuff. Once the plane (Iberia) landed, I decided to give myself a quick tour of the sites. Taking the Metro was quite easy. Sightseeing was rushed due to only having 3-4 hours of freedom before checking in to the company hotel site.


Bear and the Madroño Tree, heraldic symbol of Madrid in Puerta del Sol.


Walking down Gran Via street.


Temple of Debod

Found a cab, then headed to the company hotel site. The next day was the conference (day 1) from 9am-6pm, long but interesting. After sitting in a room for so long, my legs were itching to run and be free. I just ran until the sunset.

The next conference (day 2) was also 9am-6pm; the lack of sleep is slowly taking its toll. Afterwards, the team was treated to a 2 hour Madrid walking tour:

The final conference (day 3) was from 9am-2pm. The biggest challenge was staying awake after the group dinner and bar/club outing which went on until 3am. Once the conference was over, we all say our goodbyes and I headed to the final hotel in Madrid for one night prior to my flight back. Once I arrived around 6pm, there were plans to meet up with some colleagues in the city for dinner and drinks at 9pm. Free time eh, I couldn’t resist, Jon’s Running Tour!


Retiro Park is like a piece of Central Park; Spaniard joggers are fast.


It started to get dark once I exited the park. I quickly became disoriented and lost. 30-45 extra minutes of running around without GPS and a poorly drawn map eventually led me back on track somehow.


Yay, I found my way to the hotel.

Long story short, I made it back to home sweet home in NYC and slept for 12 hours on Saturday because Sunday morning is a 17 mile long run. A session that earned a post all to itself!

LESS THAN A MONTH UNTIL MARATHON DAY!
LESS THAN A MONTH UNTIL MARATHON DAY!
LESS THAN A MONTH UNTIL MARATHON DAY!

6 thoughts on “Running in Madrid

    • sephiroth796 October 11, 2012 / 10:08 am

      Unfortunately, I still don’t own a Garmin. With a $15 per Mb of data for international use, you can understand why I kept my phone on flight mode. Enjoy your 2 weeks in Spain!

      • Run To Munch October 12, 2012 / 9:39 am

        Yea, problem with runkeeper is it need data.

  1. PDX Running Chick October 11, 2012 / 10:24 am

    Great pictures!!! To run in Europe is on my goal list for next year. :). Less than a month until marathon day!! I think you’re ready!

    • sephiroth796 October 11, 2012 / 11:19 am

      Jogging through the sites with a camera is perhaps one of the best methods of sightseeing if you can last for 2-3 hours and access to maps. This weekend is the big 22 miler, the true test and the climax of the training! I hear the Berlin marathon is awesome!

      • PDX Running Chick October 12, 2012 / 10:25 am

        My goal is the Venice marathon next October. 🙂 I’ve heard the Berlin marathon is awesome too —

Leave a Reply

