Another journey of 20

Training is almost reaching its peak as autumn dominates the weather. There is nothing like going out there with the cool breeze in your face at around 50-60 degrees, perfect running weather. Gone are the days of sweating pints. You can’t miss out on running in the parks/trails when it starts to rain leaves and all the colors surround you. It doesn’t last for long though, so get out there and experience it.

We have to remember to enjoy the journeys we take, whether it’s a 5K, 10K, or 20 miler. Training for a marathon has a way of taking the joy of running and transforming it into homework assignments with its schedule, workouts, and other stuff. I’ve started thinking about life after the big race and what the hell I plan to do afterwards. Some people are considering other marathons like Boston, Chicago, Berlin, and London. I might just bring it back to the beginning. Back to when running was an adventure and a half marathon was the farthest distance. But until November, there is a job to do.
Tuesday September 11: 7.02 miles @ 8:30 min/mile. With only 2 days after completing my 20 miler, I felt powerful. Mile 5 was a 7:23 pace, PR for speed! Pushing the limits yet again!

Thursday September 13 (My Birthday!): 5.54miles @ 9:10 min/mile pace. My first time bday job, I’m officially a runner now 🙂

Saturday September 15: 9.47 miles @ 9:15 min/mile pace via Central Park loops. I wasn’t feeling confident enough to run with the wolf pack so I decided to run solo. Why? Because I have my first blister ever. After a few miles of 9:30 pacing, the wolf pack passed by. If anyone knows me, then you can guess what happened next. Of course, I switched over and started to run with them. Whoa, you can immediately feel the difference, like someone pressed fast forward. It was 8:30 pacing minimum for the rest of the run. And the most unlikely thing occurred. Not only was I keeping up, but I was in the front lines of the wolf pack for once. I’m still unsure of my marathon pace but I know its in somewhere around 9:00 min/mile.

Monday September 17: 5.58 miles @ 8:13 min/mile pace. This run was incredible, 3/5 miles under 8 pace! I don’t think I can top this for a while. Perhaps it was all that rice at the Indian buffet lunch.

Wednesday September 19: 7.68 miles @ 8:43 min/mile pace. All miles under 9 pace except the first. Ultimately, this was my goal: to maintain a 9 pace throughout. Good job Jon, keep it up.

Thursday September 20: 6.20miles @ 9:00 pace. This was the recovery run. And still kept it 9 pace flat, I’m ready for the 20 miler, bring it on.

Saturday September 22 (Big 20): 20.01 miles @ 9:34 pace from Brooklyn bridge to the George Washington bridge, then back to 72nd st. Total time = 3:11:41 including rest stops. 10 minutes faster than the last 20 miler but felt more challenging.

Maybe it was the recent increase in my performance, but somehow, I had a sudden confidence, to run 20 miles with the wolf pack. This idea would be insane a month ago but there’s only one way to find out. How exciting. Not easy shooting pics while on the run. A new skill to practice.


Miles 1-10: Awesomeness. Crossed the Brooklyn bridge, passed through the Staten Island ferry terminal, caught a glimpse of the statue of liberty while going through Battery park, passed through Chelsea Piers, and then Riverside Park for the rest of the route. The pace started out around 9:15 pace then worked its way to 8:45/8:30 pace. With such a scenic route, I didn’t think too much about my endurance. Can I really keep this pace for 10 more miles? Of course not!

Miles 11-20: Not as awesome but glorious nevertheless. I spent a bit too long at the Gatorade stop at mile 11. The wolf pack ran off without me. As long as they are in sight then I’m ok. 5 more miles went by. The fatigue and pains kicked in. And something never experienced, my left gluteous muscle was sore and it felt like it was going to pop. Once we reached the GW bridge, we headed back to 72nd street.

By Mile 16, the wolf pack was out of sight. I started taking walk breaks by mile 17. By mile 18, I was still fighting, hoping/praying that the end is near. Miles 19 and 20 were just painful, ugh. Another 20 miler down, one more 20+ miler in mid-October to go.

4 thoughts on “Another journey of 20

  1. PDX Running Chick September 26, 2012 / 1:19 pm

    A Happy Belated Birthday to you! Nice runs above. You are really fast Jon. I’m sure you’ll finish the marathon where you want to. I’m excited to watch it happen for you!! And guess what? It’s ALWAYS the perfect running temperature at 4:30 in the morning. . . no matter where you live!! 🙂 Luckily I live in a place that rarely gets above 70 at any time of the day. 🙂 Have an amazing week!

    • sephiroth796 September 26, 2012 / 4:39 pm

      Thank you. I can’t wait for the day when I can finally post the marathon story, with pics and vids. Yes I plan to have fun that day with my phone camera in hand. Whether its a 4:00, 4:30, or even a 5:00 marathon, its all good. I’ve finally learned that its better to enjoy the race than to race the race.

  2. Run To Munch September 29, 2012 / 10:17 am

    You are going to crush your marathon!! Great job!

Leave a Reply

