Running on empty – week 1

Less than 100 days left till the NYC marathon!

Heat and rain best describes the weather during this past week in NYC. But rain or shine, freezing or heat wave; the training must go on. Its been a bit more than a week since my Ramadan fasting has begun. The most challenging part would be the lack of sleep due to waking up before sunrise (3:45am) everyday. About 16 hours later (around 7:30am), I go out for a run “on empty”. By this point in the marathon training, I should be running 6-7 miles 3x per week excluding the long run on the weekends. I thought about it; could I run 6-7 miles after 16 hours of no food or water 3x per week. It may be possible without passing out in the street; there’s only one way to find out.

I performed some experiments last week and used myself as the guinea pig. The goal for the week was to run a 5K and not feel like dying from the lack of fuel/energy. The long-term goal is to run a 10K such that, I can resume the expected mileage while fasting. The results are in for week 1:

Tuesday: 2.30 miles @ 9:26 min/mile pace. Eh, could be worse. I was determined to run the 5K on Wednesday after finishing this.

Wednesday: 2.86 miles @ 9:04 min/mile pace. Now we are talking, any pace less than 9:15 is pleasing to me.  Technically, I didn’t run a 5K yet. Thursday must be the day. I’ll just extend the current route by taking a detour.

Thursday: 3.23 miles @ 9.27 min/mile pace, in a rainstorm. Stupid weather.com with their 40% chance of rain estimate. I took my chances. I took a detour but ended up somewhere unfamiliar. The wind started to blow, the clouds got darker, the first drops hit my face, and 1.5 miles left to go. With half a mile left, I almost escaped it, but nature won. The skies poured a lakes worth of rain on me. But who cares! I ran a 5K, mission complete! And 10 miles for the week too!

Saturday: 13 miles @ approximately 9 min/mile pace. 2 laps around central park. I don’t fast on Saturdays which makes a long run possible. But man, it was such a nasty morning in central park, 86% humidity. I can’t wait for that cool weather again.

2 thoughts on “Running on empty – week 1

  1. PDX Running Chick July 30, 2012 / 6:21 pm

    Congratulations!! You’re doing great! And I’m sorry, but the last sentence made me laugh. I hope your calculations are correct! 🙂

    • sephiroth796 July 30, 2012 / 8:58 pm

      So far so good, just did 4 miles! And the pounds lost matched the equation.

Leave a Reply

