Back to the Races

So much can happen in a week. Tuesdays and Thursdays are my new 10k training days from now on (minimum 25 miles per week plan), so this post begins on Tuesday. I never ran the Forest park route at night and it just so happened that it was really foggy. After running for 2 miles, there were no more street lights. It became pitch black and I couldn’t even see the ground, like a scary movie scene. The only way out was forward, so I grabbed a stick (just in case) and ran faster. I’m the only running idiot in the whole park right now! After mile 4, I was out of the park and in the street, whew. At the end, I was soaked, not of sweat but dew from the cloud.

The new job starts Monday! My last day was Wednesday. Its a brand new start for me, and I’m looking forward to it. Later that day, my wife and I went out with some colleagues/friends to Chelsea Piers to celebrate the new job, good times. On Friday morning, I felt like hell. I can’t believe I’m sick, my body was steaming hot and so weak.  I knocked out for 2 hours in the middle of the day. But one thought kept circling in my mind… will I be able to run the 7am Brooklyn Half marathon race? I just kept drinking water, swallowed acetaminophen pills, and hoped for the best. I woke up at 4am on Saturday, still undecided but had an hour to make up my mind. After eating some oatmeal, I went out for a 5 minute test run to see what my machine was capable of. Yes, a passing grade, sore throat is minimal and 90% power levels, I’m in!

Alex (my running buddy) shared a cab with me to Prospect Park. 15,000 runners were there for this epic race. My goal was to finish in less than 2 hours. I kept myself extra hydrated and had to pee twice before the race, but once we started, I had to pee again! The lines for the potty at mile 1 were ridiculous, I refuse! At mile 2, I noticed runners jumping in the bushes (even women squatting, lol). I quickly joined the pee crowd to relieve myself. The mile after was a record for me, 7.53 min/mile. I made sure to drink water from every water station since I still felt a bit sickly, sometimes 2 cups per station. The race went fast, and no walking breaks (except for when drinking water). Around Prospect park, inside Prospect park loop, the long  journey down Ocean Parkway, the first sighting of the Cyclone coaster, the Coney Island boardwalk, the finish line. I finished the race… UNDER 2 HOURS! My time was 1:56. PR for me! Unbelievable! Such a great race, great weather, no leg pain, great time, great experience. 

Next weekend is the Boston Run to Remember Half marathon!
<– Thats me with hands up.
<– My first race medal, makes me feel special 🙂

13 miles down, time to rest now.

4 thoughts on “Back to the Races

  1. Run To Munch May 22, 2012 / 9:26 am

    Congrats on the race! Its funny how everyone is getting sick now that its hot outside. Maybe I’ll catch you in the run to remember.

    • sephiroth796 May 22, 2012 / 11:46 pm

      You’ll certainly be in front by like 2 miles. Maybe I’ll catch you in the start point. Good luck for the race!

  2. PDX Running Chick May 22, 2012 / 10:36 am

    Congratulations on such a great run!! You look so happy crossing that finish line! Love it! Good luck at the Run to Remember!

    • sephiroth796 May 22, 2012 / 11:51 pm

      Thanks, and yes, at the finish line, I just knew that this was gonna be a PR because the 13 mile mark was 1:55. I turned the Boston race into a 3 day weekend getaway with my wife. A good chance to check out what that city has to offer. You must be excited for your upcoming marathon, can’t wait for that marathon post.

Leave a Reply

