Taking it back to January

An eventful week. Thursday may have been my fastest 10k yet; under 55 minutes. But lately, all of my runs have been somewhat painful. Can’t they just be easy and enjoyable? Do all runners look like they are about to pass out when they finish a run session? I don’t think so. Once again, there’s something wrong with the way I’m training; but what? On the bright side I did hit 20 miles last week, but at the expense of limping on Monday.

Saturday was the open house with the TFK (Team for Kids) charity group. What a great group of people. Everyone was really friendly and of course they were all crazy about running. This would be the first time in which I had the opportunity to hang out with so many runners in one place. And the coaches, they were like the Avengers of marathon training.

One coach spoke with me for 15-20 minutes regarding my approach. He advised that it was too early to be running 20 miles, especially without a “base”. Also, that my 2 run sessions per week is a doomed approach and injury prone. I should instead spread the mileage throughout the week, perhaps 4-5 runs per week with a half marathon being the new long run distance for now. Also, he advised not to have 2 “hard” training sessions back to back. A hard training session can be defined as a very long distance or very fast pace. A recovery day must follow a hard training session in order for the muscles to grow properly. I took it all in and decided to change right there.

Just for fun, 15 of us all went out to central park a ran a 4 mile loop. Amazing, we ran at a talking pace during the entire time. 4 miles went so fast, it felt like 2. I got to know 2 more coaches during the run; one who ran an Ultra marathon – 100 miles, and one who ran a 38 minute 10k just an hour before I met him. These guys are going to be my new marathon role models. Starting June 2, the official TFK charity team training begins, can’t wait.

<- Summer is here!

Sunday is the long run day as usual. I would’ve went for 20 miles again but why. This was a good time to apply the coaches’ advice. A half marathon distance should be good. 80 degrees out in New York; I chose wisely. The end result: no pain, like I didn’t even run today, like I could do it again tomorrow. 2 hours and 3 minutes! Damn, I gotta get used to running in the heat, and its only May.

Next week, I’ll be racing the Brooklyn Half Marathon!

4 thoughts on “Taking it back to January

  1. Run To Munch May 14, 2012 / 10:27 am

    Wooot! Brooklyn! Still sad that sold out so quickly!

    Good luck on Saturday!

    • sephiroth796 May 14, 2012 / 1:42 pm

      I know. As soon as I saw the facebook announcement and registered, it was already half full. 12 hour window, I guess everybody in NYC is a runner now.

  2. PDX Running Chick May 14, 2012 / 10:31 am

    This post makes me happy, Jon. I’m thrilled that you met some coaches that you could respect that told you how to approach your training. I think you’re going to finish your marathon a lot quicker than you even think you will — because you’re training is getting ready to be spot on with the TFK training runs.

    Good luck this weekend! Have fun!

    • sephiroth796 May 14, 2012 / 2:11 pm

      I did not expect to deviate from the original path of simply adding a mile per month. But it does show that training is more than physical growth but quite an education journey and of course experimentation. Everyone is different and requires unique training to accomodate their unique body. I’ll be sharing more of the expert advice throughout the next few months, if only I had this guidance sooner.

Leave a Reply

