Summer is here

Almost 80 degrees, summer is ahead a few months in NYC. Its been too long since I went out running wearing only one layer. Thursday’s 10k went faster than usual; almost went below 8 min/mile pace on mile 5. Friday was movie night; Cabin in the Woods. Great movie, Jon recommends. On Saturday night, I saw Gabriel Iglesias comedy central at Radio City music hall, freakin funny as hell. I made sure to chow down on some pizza that night for carb loading. Onward to the Sunday long run.

Into the street jungle I went. It turns out that this week was hard on everyone, even fellow jogger bloggers who ran a marathon. I was already a sweaty mess by mile 6 and the walking breaks already started, crap. The sweat on my face was burning my eyes as it dripped down my face. By this point, it was obvious that I couldn’t perform as well as last week. At mile 13, I was feeling pretty crappy, but I keep going because I’m stupid and stubborn. Mile 14 was a record for me, a fail record, 13.42 min/mile. The question was just echoing in my ear, how the hell am I supposed to run 4 more miles when I have nothing left? Good thing I’m so far from home. It kinda forces me to keep going. Limping, skipping, walking, dragging, mile 15, mile 16… the mexican man with the coco ices? There, at mile 16, I just stopped. But alteast I have a nice cold coco icy 🙂

16.55 miles instead of 18; first time I fell short of my mileage target. Such a let down, I feel like a failure. This failure feeling is becoming the usual though, as if its a part of the training, like we need to fail in order to progress further. I’m not a natural, thats for sure. This long distance runnning thing doesn’t come easy to me, which is why I started my training so early. I progressed from 13 to 18 miles since January; 3-4 months. Is it possible to grow from 18 to 26 in 6 months? Perhaps. Will I be limping past the finish line, or running it? All I want is for my first (and maybe last) marathon to be a good one.

16.55 miles down, time to rest now…

3 thoughts on “Summer is here

  1. PDX Running Chick April 19, 2012 / 10:07 pm

    First, I can’t imagine running in 80 degrees. I’m a heat wimp. My hat is off to you for that. Next, failure is important so we can appreciate the successful runs, but damn, I feel your pain. Have you ever looked at compression socks? I was looking at them the other day and I might try them just to see if they help my shins. Don’t doubt your ability to run 26.2 in 6 months, believe that you can. You can and you most certainly WILL finish!! Sending “good run” thoughts to you for Sunday!!

    • sephiroth796 April 20, 2012 / 10:41 am

      I’ve run in 90-100 degrees before like a fool. You can get a great tan but will leterally require a huge bottle of water every 3 miles. Compression socks sound good, but brand new shins would be ideal. Its becoming scientific now, experimenting with different things to hopefully build mileage/speed and reduce pain/injury. When I figure out the best method that works, I’ll blog the crap out of it.

Leave a Reply

