One just isn’t enough

Just wanted to start off be saying, I’m runnin the Brooklyn Half marathon (May 19) again this year! Can you believe the race was closed out about 12 hrs after the registration gates opened. This is madness. Or maybe everybody is a runner now. Whatever the case, I’m due for another race and could use some new Jon running pics.

Well, what can I say? I’m running nowhere fast, I didn’t progress all month, stuck at the infamous 17 mile mark. Perhaps I’m the fool who runs 17 miles once a week, every week, and expects growth. I use everything I have on Sunday then rest for 6 days. Its like starving for 6 days, and then eating 12,000 calories worth in one day expecting to loose weight and not get sick at the same time. 3 hours of nonstop running seems to be the threshold for such a system and perhaps the reason why I’ve been getting the knee pains, feeling so fatiguey with 5 day recovery periods. We must evolve and adapt to survive.

The typical training program has at least 3 run sessions per week, why the hell do I not do that? I seriously gotta change things. Even last year, I ran for 2 hrs, 2x per week. When did I diverge from that path? Did I get too cocky and lazy? So, this week I applied the old scientific method; experimentation. I ran an easy 6 miles on Saturday followed by a 10.5 miles on Sunday instead of a 17 mile journey in a single day. Guess what, hardly any knee pain and recovered fully by Tuesday, hmmm. If I change things up, maybe I can get to 18, we shall see.

I’ve ordered 3 books to help me out a bit; guiding myself is a fail bomb right now. I’m now reading ‘Run faster from the 5k to the marathon – how to be your own coach’ by Brad Hudson; quite technical but I’m getting some good input. Running uphill seems to be key in power development. Also, training programs should be more dynamic and adaptive; it should change as the runner’s abilities change, like a differential equation. I can’t wait to meet real coaches in the summer with the Team for Kids charity.

Still 17 miles down, time to rest now…

5 thoughts on “One just isn’t enough

  1. Run To Munch March 29, 2012 / 7:10 am

    aww NY races always sell out before I fine out about it.

    17 miles is 17 miles whether its 1 or 2 days! You’re get to 18, maybe even 19 😉

      • sephiroth796 March 30, 2012 / 12:40 am

        I think you are right. The legs don’t get enough time to recover, so its like continuing where you left off the day prior. It plays with the mind when mile 1 feels like mile 10.

  2. PDX Running Chick March 29, 2012 / 7:19 pm

    Jon I had no idea you were running one day a week. That’s a good way to hurt yourself, even though I am totally guilty of the same thing. I agree with Liana though, 17 is 17 no matter how you get there. Run more though it will make you feel better. 🙂

  3. sephiroth796 March 30, 2012 / 12:45 am

    Yes, I’m just a running fool. I’ll definitely run at least once during midweek from now on. I just ran today, from around Times Square to my house for a good 7 miles; bridges, hills, and 18mph wind. We shall see what happens on the Sunday long run, 18 perhaps.

Leave a Reply

