The 17th mile wall

In the last post, I ran 17 miles for the second time and suffered some knee pain toward the end. The kind of pain where even walking hurts; I could not bend my right knee and just skipped home for a mile or two. 2 weeks and 2 long runs later, nothing has changed. This knee pain kicks in earlier each time. I may need to visit the doctor next week. So the results are in:

Feb26: 17 miles took 2:57:58
Mar04: 17 miles took 2:59:15
Mar11: 17 miles took 2:58:52

If it wasn’t for this knee thing, I could probably run 18 miles in less than 3 hours. But my body just breaks down and I just can’t go further. Yes, I said it, can’t. Many times, toward the end of my long run, I just lay in the grass and dirt  like I don’t give a shit; the bugs can just crawl all over me. After 13 miles, it seems like gravity doubles and my leg muscles are reduced by half. I recall when 13 miles was more than I could bear, perhaps this is the new 13. My goal is to reach 20 miles this summer.  Maybe its less of a wall and more like a hole. My legs, knees, thighs, calves, feet just need more training. Maybe its a case of too much too soon. Maybe some cross training is necessary. Eh, who knows, but for now, I’ll stick with the one long run every Sunday plan, it got me this far after all. Training doesn’t have too be all hardship and pain; I enjoy most of it and come across things like mother goose, upset home owners and spring’s beginnings (lol):

17 miles down, time to rest now…

2 thoughts on “The 17th mile wall

  1. Run To Munch March 14, 2012 / 3:28 pm

    Have you tried the knee strap thing (Patella strap)? I got one from amazon for 5 bucks and it helped a lot! I was also wearing powerstep insoles in my shoe and I found out once I removed them I had less knee pain. I still get it sometimes when I run on narrow/uneven streets but once I started wearing the ugly orange knee strap and took out my orthopedics things got better.

    Good luck!

    • sephiroth796 March 14, 2012 / 11:21 pm

      Thanks alot, I just bought one and will try it out next time. I bet its the new hilly / uneven trail route thats responsible. Best of luck on your Marathon, I look forward to the inspirational story.

Leave a Reply

