Cold as ice

Another a Sunday morning and the temp was in the upper 20s with 15-20mph winds. I scouted outside to test the weather and see if a jog was possible. If it wasn’t for that jogger outside looking like he was having the best time in his own little world, I might have just stayed home. I thought “that could be meeee”. So around 4:30pm, I began my journey into the streets. By mile 7, I took a detour on a bike path; didn’t know how hilly it was until I could see living rooms of 4th and 5th floor apartments. I ended up in the middle of a forest once the bike trail started to vanish. I just kept running through while keeping my sense of direction, but soon realized that I was kinda lost. Alone in the creepy woods at night with strange sounds in the distance. I was reminded of that scene in Avatar when the main character was stuck in the woods at night and the demon wolves surrounded him.

The winds picked up once the night came. I was freezing and that just pissed me off. I had to keep running fast to maintain my body heat. My face became frozen; every few minutes I put my palms to my face and breathed hot air to warm it. Then flurries started to fall, and into my eyes, wonderful. Started to regret coming out but its always worth it at the end. By mile 10, I was growling (Yaaargh!) in fury to just keep going on, to just get home. The rage kept the flame burning, a very small flame, but hot enough to get me home. 15 miles, that deserved a treat, even though it wasn’t 16 like the previous week. A double serving of pasta dinner cooked by my queen.

One thought on “Cold as ice

  1. PDX Running Chick February 22, 2012 / 9:48 pm

    So how did the 17 miles go for you? I hope it went well and your run was strong! I would welcome the opportunity to read about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

