Feb Fail

I was sick this weekend, and too sick to jog. I haven’t missed a weekend long run in months. I felt that I should just make up this day sometime during the workweek as soon as I felt better. Wednesday was the day; a 50F+ temp night. Perhaps it was the wind, maybe I didn’t fully recover, or because I didn’t have my Sunday morning oatmeal, but this was the worst half marathon sessions ever. Every mile was done a minute slower than usual, I think a turtle passed me by. Its like all my energy vanished halfway through.

When I returned home, I noticed the saltiest face in the mirror. Aha, that might explain it. I didn’t hydrate properly throughout the day. I hit 15 miles last time because I drank liters of water throughout the day. Its official, H20 is key, lesson learned. Why am I realizing this now so late in the game?

Leave a Reply

