Minus coffee, plus one mile

Another ordinary week followed by an ordinary weekend in January. It snowed a few inches Friday night. It wasn’tt going to be a smiple run session. Saturday was too soon, so I just stayed home. By the end of the night, I totally forgot to have coffee, which I never go a day without. Sunday came and it was 20 something degrees out. I gave it a shot and attempted another 14 miles like last week. I chose wisely.

I stepped outaide and the roads were still full of snow, ice and slush. Running downhill without sliding wasn’t too difficult in my old messed up sneakers. Its a nice experience to run during winter, especially with the snowy scenery. Actually, the snow kept my speed under control so my pace was steady throughout. As I tuned myself out from the world, I felt at peace while running. There was hardly anyone outside, just me and the trees. By mile 10, I felt great, like I could run forever. And if I feel like running forever, then why don’t I, at least 15 miles, why not.

I reached the mile 13 crossroads, one direction was 1 mile home, the other was 2 miles. So I made a left. Yes, the 2. Mostly uphill, but who cares, I could run forever right. Mission accomplished! I did 15 during the month of 14, but how did I pull this off? Did I do something differently than last week? No, it can’t be … coffee! My morning tradition, could it be that coffee was holding me back from my goal. And so I quit coffee just like that. I’ve been coffee sober for almost a week now, who needs the acid anyway. Green tea isn’t so bad.

15 miles down, time to rest now…

3 thoughts on “Minus coffee, plus one mile

  1. Evie Cordova March 22, 2012 / 8:30 am

    I drink coffee occassionally but am curious to know if you went back to it and was there a difference if you did?

    • sephiroth796 March 22, 2012 / 9:34 am

      I actually did not turn back, and about to get some jasmine green tea right after this reply. I wonder what could happen if I went back to coffee, perhaps it wouldn’t be as addictive as it once was. Kind of like cigarettes. Once you quit, you’ve overcome being addicted in the same way for good, I think. I can’t imagine quitting jogging though 😉

Leave a Reply

