Pushing the limits

“If you always put limits on what you can do, physical or anything else, it’ll spread over into the rest of your life. It’ll spread into your work, into your morality, into your entire being. There are no limits. There are plateaus, but you must not stay there, you must go beyond them. If it kills you, it kills you. A man must constantly exceed his level.” – Bruce Lee

2011 was the year for training throughout the winter, in the snow, ice, and the cold. What can go wrong will go wrong. I sunk knee deep in cold slush, slipped on ice, almost got hit by a car a few times, almost got hit by a bus (whew), some bad shin splints, loose knee joint, stuck in leftover blizzard snow (sooo stupid), almost chased down by a monster dog (stupid girl almost let go of the leash, wtf), nipple chaffing, sweat sweat sweat, pain pain pain, ah good times. No pain no gain, so gimmie more…

The treadmills just isn’t my thing. Once the spring came, I was able to hit 10+ miles. Progress! But now, it was time to put my training to the test, the Half Marathon! The second half of 2011 was my quest for half marathons (NYRR Brooklyn Half, NYRR Queens Half, Grete’s Gallop [2 Central Park loops], and NYRR Staten Island Half).

What a thrill! Running with 10,000 people, amazing! I even whipped out a cartwheel at the finish line. They say if you can run 13 you can run 26, I wasn’t too sure about that. Running 13+ miles will be a brand new experience and challenge. This would require that I’m comfortable running 13 miles. Well, lets try it out.

So I decided to run 13 miles locally; no racing, no mob of runners, just me all over the streets of Queens. Mission accomplished, all by myself; all grown up now. The cool thing about running farther is that you can run different routes every time so that it never gets boring. Its been a year since I’ve started training, and today for the first time, I pushed the limit, 13.5 miles, and still felt like there was some more in me. By next summer, my goal is to hit 20 in about 3-3.5 hrs.

13.5 miles down, time to rest now…

2 thoughts on “Pushing the limits

  1. Evie Cordova March 22, 2012 / 9:04 am

    That Bruce Lee quote is now one of my favorites…it just nails it! Awesome job, congrats on what you have so far accomplished, and good luck on the marathon journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

